SIOE 2020

24th Annual Conference of
the Society for Institutional & Organizational Economics

The Society for Institutional and Organizational Economics (SIOE) studies institutions and organizations, largely but not entirely from the perspective of economics. In 2020, SIOE was to hold its annual conference at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

The full program of 80 sessions was chosen by the executive committee and program committee listed below. The full program—including each paper’s abstract and, if the author(s) so choose, a link to the paper—is available at

There will not be an in-person conference. Instead:

  • Nine sessions selected by the executive committee will be streamed on Friday, June 19. See for details about the nine sessions and the overall structure of the event.
  • There will be a fresh submission process for the 2021 SIOE conference. All submissions to the 2020 conference are eligible to join the fresh submission process in 2021 (although papers in the streamed sessions should of course be radically altered if submitted again).
  • There is no fee to attend the streamed sessions, but registration is required by June 14 at Zoom links and passwords will be emailed on June 15.
  • Streaming will occur from 10:30am to 3:45pm. (All times are ET—e.g., New York.) Regrettably, there is no time that is convenient for all SIOE members; this timing seemed least bad for this event.
  • Three awards will be announced on June 19: the Ronald Coase Award for best dissertation on a SIOE topic; the Douglass North Award for the best book on a SIOE topic published in the past two years; and the Oliver Williamson Award for the best paper on the full conference program. (The Elinor Ostrom Award for lifetime achievement will next be given in 2021.)
  • Finally, in this unusual year, there will be a new feature of this year’s conference: subject to supply constraints, we will match junior attendees with senior SIOE members for a 20-minute chat at a time of the pair’s choosing. Details will be included with the links and passwords on June 15.

The nine streamed sessions represent all but one of the ten broad topic areas that structured submissions for the 2020 conference. These ten areas are an initial attempt to sketch the footprint of SIOE and are listed below.

Contact email:

The members of the conference’s executive committee are:

  • Oriana Bandiera (LSE)
  • Lisa Bernstein (Chicago)
  • Renee Bowen (UCSD)
  • Silke Forbes (Tufts)
  • Robert Gibbons (MIT)—chair and local organizer
  • Pauline Grosjean (UNSW)
  • Maria Guadalupe (INSEAD)
  • Nan Jia (USC)
  • Ruixue Jia (UCSD)
  • Emily Sellars (Yale)

The members of the conference’s program committee are:

  • Charles Angelucci (Columbia)
  • Matthew Backus (Columbia)
  • Ying Bai (CUHK)
  • Victor Bennett (Duke)
  • Laura Boudreau (Columbia)
  • Peter Buisseret (Chicago)
  • Lorenzo Casaburi (Zurich)
  • Ying Chen (Johns Hopkins)
  • Chen Cheng (Johns Hopkins)
  • Zoe Cullen (Harvard)
  • Golvine de Rochambeaud (Sciences Po)
  • Erika Deserranno (Northwestern)
  • Dana Foarta (Stanford)
  • Vicky Fouka (Stanford)
  • Claudine Gartenberg (Penn) 
  • Yingni Guo (Northwestern)
  • ILWOO (IRU) HWANG (Seoul National University)
  • Aseem Kaul (Minnesota)
  • Dan Kelly (Notre Dame)
  • Henrik Lando (CBS)
  • Adi Leibovitch (Hebrew)
  • Hongyi Li (UNSW)
  • Sara Lowes (UCSD)
  • Jiao Luo (Minnesota)
  • Federico Masera (UNSW)
  • Mary-Hunter McDonnell (Penn)
  • Pepita Miquel-Florensa (TSE)
  • Ameet Morjaria (Northwestern)
  • Ilia Murtazashvili (Pittsburgh) 
  • Kieu-Trang Nguyen (Northwestern)
  • Lamar Pierce (Harvard)
  • Bertrand Quelin (HEC Paris)
  • Simon Quinn (Oxford)
  • Heikki Rantakari (Rochester)
  • Anja Shortland (King’s College London)
  • Claudia Steinwender (MIT)
  • Takuo Sugaya (Stanford)
  • Pavithra Suryanarayan (Johns Hopkins)
  • Marta Troya-Martinez (NES)
  • Ian Turner (Yale) 
  • Xiao Yu Wang (Duke)
  • David Yang (Harvard)
  • Noam Yuchtman (LSE)
  • Angela Zhang (Hong Kong)
  • Jane Zhang (UNSW)

Ten broad topic areas for submissions:

  1. Governance within organizations
    • Such as motivation & incentives, communication & decision-making, delegation, management practices, organizational culture, structure, corporate governance
  2. Governance between organizations
    • Such as formal contracts, relational contracts, alliances, procurement, vertical integration, lateral integration, franchising, hybrid organizational forms
  3. Polycentric governance
    • Such as communities, cooperatives, common-pool resources, associations, leagues, organized crime, treaties, networks, social movements, collective action
  4. Institutions and organizations in the public sector
    • Such as bureaucracy, legislatures, political parties, constitutions, courts, federalism, public-private partnerships, regulation
  5. Institutions and organizations in political economy
    • Such as autocracy, transition, reform, corruption, rule of law, property rights, enforcement of law
  6. Culture and institutions
    • Such as religion, slavery, race, gender, media, norms
  7. Institutions and organizations in economic development and growth
    • Topics such as those above, in low-income and/or weakly institutionalized settings
  8. Law, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of law—including case studies of institutions in action, relational contracts (in theory or practice), and public choice
  9. Political Science, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of political science—including bureaucratic politics, electoral institutions, legislative institutions, parties, corruption, clientelism, regime type & change, state building & capacity, informal institutions
  10. Strategic Management, in the study of institutions or organizations
    • Topics such as those above, from the perspective of strategy—including knowledge, capability, innovation, technology, top management teams, boards, diversification, alliances, nonmarket strategy, stakeholders