2018 SIOE Awards: Announcement and Call for Nominations

By Bentley MacLeod

This year the Society for Institutional and Organizational Economics calls for nominations for the 2018 Douglass North and 2018 Ronald Coase Awards.

The Douglass North Best Book Award

  • For the best book in institutional and organizational economics published in the calendar years 2016 or 2017.
  • The entry must have been published in English by a recognized press.
  • Nominations may come from any academic other than the author(s) of the work, and must include a letter explaining the reasons for the nomination.
  • Nominations must include an electronic copy of the book’s front matter (title page, copyright page, preface, and table of contents).
  • Copies of the top three short listed books may be requested by the committee from the Press, the author, or the nominator.
  • The Award Committee will review submissions and pick the winner.
  • The submission deadline is April 15th, 2018.
  • Submissions should be sent to the SIOE Secretary, Prof. Giorgio Zanarone, at gzanarone@cunef.edu.


The Ronald H. Coase Dissertation Award

  • Anyone may nominate a dissertation.
  • Candidates will be asked to submit a 5 page abstract and have sent (under separate cover) a letter from an advisor or Ph.D. committee member explaining the contribution of the dissertation.
  • The Award Committee will review entries and choose a shortlist of finalists. Finalists will be required to submit their full dissertation, from which the Committee will choose a winner.
  • To be eligible, the PhD would have to be awarded in the calendar years 2016 or 2017.
  • The result will be announced at the SIOE meeting in June 2018.
  • Deadline for submission is April 15th, 2018.
  • Submissions should be sent to the chair of the Coase Award committee, Prof. Nan Jia, at Nan.Jia@marshall.usc.edu.

Please see the Society's website for more information, including information on the Elinor Ostrom Award that will be assigned next year: www.sioe.org. For more information on the awards offered by the Society see https://www.sioe.org/sioe-awards.